Overview and History of The Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series is part of the National Excellence in Public Service Series, a group of 20 state organizations with these common goals:

  • To provide a sponsored first-class leadership training experience for outstanding women.
  • To encourage, mentor and prepare selected women leaders to seek new levels of involvement in government and politics.
  • To provide participants access to political and government leaders responsible for candidate recruitment and/or appointments.
  • To establish an active core of highly qualified women who are educated and motivated to assume key roles in public service.
  • To form an effective and diverse statewide political network for women.

The Eisenhower Series is one of the most active and successful of its kind in the country. Each year this Series sponsors one class of outstanding Republican women from across Kansas. It is comprised of events held once a month, typically on Saturdays, at various locations across Kansas. We invite you to explore our excellent Series Curriculum, featuring elected officials, leaders of Kansas industries, and experts in campaign management.

The Eisenhower Series is a thriving organization with an expanding board and an increasingly engaged alumni organization of more than 300 graduates. Many of these women are working in high levels of our state government and state legislature. Many others are active leaders and grass roots volunteers in their chosen area of passion — helping to educate and advocate on behalf of causes they hold dear.

Our Salute to Dwight D. Eisenhower, 34th President of the
United States of America (1953 – 1961)

Bringing the Presidency his prestige as commanding general of the victorious forces in Europe during World War II, Dwight D. Eisenhower obtained a truce in Korea and worked incessantly during his two terms to ease the tensions of the Cold War. He pursued the moderate policies of “Modern Republicanism,” pointing out as he left office, “America is today the strongest, most influential, and most productive nation in the world.”

Brought up in Abilene, Kansas, Eisenhower was the third of seven sons. He commanded the Allied Forces landing in North Africa in November 1942; on D-Day, 1944, he was Supreme Commander of the troops invading France.

After the war, he became President of Columbia University, then took leave to assume supreme command over the new NATO forces being assembled in 1951. Republican emissaries to his headquarters near Paris persuaded him to run for President in 1952.

“I like Ike” was an irresistible slogan; Eisenhower won a sweeping victory.


1990 – Establishment of the Richard G. Lugar Excellence in Public Service Series

A volunteer board of women in Indiana organized for the purpose of recruiting, training and electing Republican women. As a result of the success of the Lugar Series, women from several other states who shared the vision of recruiting more Republican women to positions in the public arena have worked to implement similar programs.

1993 – Presentation to the Republican National Committee

A presentation about the Lugar Series made to the Republican National Committee (RNC) triggered action in several states and ultimately resulted in a nationwide expansion effort initiated by the RNC. The groups created were organized under the National Excellence in Public Service Series, and is also referred to as The Winning Women Series.

1995 – Illinois Becomes First Expansion State with the Lincoln Series

Quickly to follow in 1998, New Jersey began the Whitman Series in honor of Governor Christy Todd Whitman. Ohio began its JoAnn Davidson Ohio Leadership Institute in 2000.

2001 – The RNC Invests in The Winning Women’s Series

Following the election of George W. Bush as president, the RNC invested $250,000 to make sure every state in the country could have a women’s leadership development program if they wanted one. Pennsylvania kicked off the Anne Anstine Excellence in Public Service Series. New Hampshire has the Vesta Roy Series, Minnesota has the North Star Series, Connecticut has the Nutmeg Series, and California has the Marian Bergeson Series. There are two mini-versions: New York Empire Women and Kentucky Women’s Roundtable. Other organizations are established or underway in Alaska, Florida, Delaware, Nevada, West Virginia, Arizona, Hawaii, South Carolina, Massachusetts and North Dakota.

2006 – The Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series Begins

The Dwight D. Eisenhower Excellence in Public Service Series was established through the generosity and encouragement of the late Mr. John Uhlman, a resident of Shawnee Mission, Kansas. Many women were instrumental in founding the Eisenhower Series. The Series continues operate through the generosity of donors, class members and alumni. 


Contact Us Today

Be Social With Us!